another c clip elim ??

grizwald

Top Fueler
Feb 21, 2008
Ontario, Canada
are there any tricks with eliminators to keep them from her leaking? i have the strange kit that has 2 aluminum pieces. just wondering if i should use any silicone between those. strange said that there's no gasket that goes there...but what stops it from leaking?

another question...with screw in studs, is there any special procedure in keeping them in place? the ones i removed were tacked in place. do i need to do that again?

i hate to sound like an idiot...but i have NO experience with this stuff.

Betcha618

Frequent Racer
Sep 19, 2007
coram, NY
the C-clip eliminator ends that bolt in always end up leaking from what I've heard. My screw in studs I just used lock-tite on, I've never welded them and never had a problem.

monzaz

Dragway Regular
Aug 10, 2005
Richfield, Oh
www.jdrace.com
Elim kits- C-clip eliminator usually leak from improper prep work to the mating surfaces of the aluminum elim block and the backing plate . If your backing plates are all bent up and not true you will have a leak problem...If you do not cut the axle tube end off at the correct length you could have a leak problem also.

In the strange elim blocks the bearings use 'O' rings on the outer diameter of the bearing to keep the oil from passing the bearing ...Moser uses a one piece block and have had NO issues with leakage if installed correctly to correct good parts. Prep work will go along way to sealing the works up correct

Screw in studs should NOT require any welding and IF you are using any aftermarket axles Moser strange etc. THAT WILL VOID ANY AND ALL WARRANTY!!! PUT the welder away. NO grinding either.

screw them in and your done. The lug on the wheel side will keep any stud from backing out.

Good luck

grizwald

Top Fueler
Feb 21, 2008
Ontario, Canada