cam question

brunz21

Amateur Racer
Jan 17, 2012
chicago, IL
hey guys i was wondering what everyone thinks about this cam. heres what i gots:

79 coupe, 454 +.100 over, 10.5:1 diamond pistons, eagle h beams, '72 gm high perfer forged crank, merlin III aluminum 350cc heads, 1050 dominator th400 reverse w/ brake, hughes 3800 stall, ford 9" 4.56 gears and 28" tall tire. (i plan to swap it for a detriot locker and 4.11 gears next year.

my cam is a bullet solid roller- gross lift .722/.697 and duration at .50 251/262 lobe separation is 112 and bullet recommends .025 and .027 hot lash on the valves. also have bullets offset lifters and trend dbl taper pushrods.

i built the car for street strip with the focus on strip. this thing is brand new and so far ive been told both, i CAN drive it on the street and i CAN'T drive it on the street. im relatively new to a motor of this level, so any input would be welcome greatly. i know some of these parts are not ideal but its all i had to work with right now. my main question is how will this combo fair on the street? i DO NOT plan to put a ton of street miles on this thing, but i want to take it to a cruise night or two here and there. also i set the lash a little tighter at a COLD .017. any thoughts? comments? am i a big idiot? ask me for more and i will tell. thanks for all the help so far fellas (and ladies)

bracketchev1221

Dragway Regular
Apr 22, 2009
Mountville Pa