How to take doors off 79 malibu 2 door

79BuOwner

Amateur Racer
Jul 11, 2011
How do you get the doors off? i've never done it before and looked at it but im stumped, im buying the hinge and bushing repair kit from dixie, and were painting the doors and hinges so why not do it all at one shot.

bowtie81

Mar 28, 2008
sarnia, ontario canada
there are 3 bolts top and and 3 bolts bottom, you can either take the door of and leave the hinges or take the hinges aswell. Get a jack and a long 2x4 put it under the door with a bit of pressure and undo the bolts but have a buddy there to balance the door when it comes off. Thats what i did and it worked out alright.

79BuOwner

Amateur Racer
Jul 11, 2011
where are the bolts located and to replace the hinge and bushing would it be easier to have the hinges off, or left on?

79BuOwner

Amateur Racer
Jul 11, 2011
disregard the where the bolts or located part, i know whatcha mean. haha, i'm just being stupid now.

nillabu

Dragway Regular
May 16, 2008
St. Cloud, Minnesota
Tell ya what I did. Takes a few more people but easier than the hassle of adjusting in the end. I first took a die grinder with a small cutting disc and cut the swedged (lower) ends of the hinge pins off. With the door open, and several people holding the door steady, I tapped the pins up and out of the hinges with a slightly smaller OD punch. Lower first, and then the top. (Tape off the door and fender edges in case the door slips).

Once the pins are out remove the door carefully. Watch the flying holding spring (I tied it up with wire before-hand. Once removed, the hinge/halfs are out in the open. Mark or drill small index holes through the hinges into the body or doors. I just scribbed mine. Once rebuilt, the halves can be reinstalled in the same location making adjustment allittle easier.