Master cutoff switch

racecar77

Pro Stocker
Aug 11, 2007
Crete,IL
I know this has been asked before, but I need some advice. I have my master disconnect switch wired to the ground side instead of the pos. side. It works but won't pass tech because engine keeps running after master switch is turned off because alternator keeps it running. I don't want to fabricate new battery cables or run alt. wire back to trunk. I'm thinking of installing another cutoff type switch in the car that just breaks the circuit in the alt. output wire. (one-wire alt.). This way I can shut the alt. off in tech and leave it off for a ten second pass and the engine should then shut off when master is turned off, correct? Thanks for any help, I appreciate it, Lee

Goob

Top Fueler
Jun 6, 2003
Indianapolis
If you install the master switch with the alternator cut-off, you still have to run the wire to the rear.
You could do a relay on the alternator wire, but you'd need something with 60-100 amp capacity, and with your ground side break switch arrangement, that may not work as it should either.

LS6 Tommy

MalibuRacing Junkie
May 15, 2004
North Jersey
Breaking the negative side is not legal for tech no matter what else you do. It's also a recipe for a good electrical fire in the event of an electrical problem. Never switch the ground side of a DC circuit or the neutral side of a 110 VAC circuit. Even with the switch off, all the loads are still energized if the ground shorts to the chassis.

Tommy

racecar77

Pro Stocker
Aug 11, 2007
Crete,IL