pls help with converter recomendation

sheldonw

Weekend Racer
Apr 13, 2008
hey guys im gonna be upgrading converters just wanna see what u guys think would be optimal
my new setup
82 cutlass 3600#
355 sbc
afr 195's
weiand 142 at 2.3:1 ratio should see about 8.5psi
custom solid flat tappet cam 238/244 @.050 .486 and .505 int/ex 114 lobe sep
8.33 compresion
with snow water meth
th350
3.73 rear w/28" tall tire
drag shocks all the way around and a sphon arb

last year i ran a best of 11.85 with a 1.71 60f @ 113.23 mph
with a tamer set up
blower was run at 2.17 ratio 6psi
nx268h cam 224/[email protected] .483/.497 113lobe sep
no water meth, no arb
and a 10" holeshot 2400 (im sure it was killing my et)
the rest was the same
it was dynoed at 459whp at 6200rpm which really doen't match my et so either that dyno was extremly optimistic or my setup was way off

Thanks!!

Damon

Pro Stocker
Feb 7, 2005
Philly Area
I've got some experience with that blower..... 495 at the rear wheels is definitely not reality. I have a milder setup than you using that blower, but sitting on a 383ci bottom end. I'm putting 390 to the rear wheels at 6000 RPMs and my MPH tells me that's about right (113-114 on street tires). I'm running a 2.28:1 pulley ratio (7" bottom, 3.07" top), a teeny-tiny 214/224* 112 LSA cam, AFR heads, 8:1 compression and I'm getting barely over 5 PSI.

Here's the sad truth that you're not gonna want to hear.... you may pick up some ET with the new setup overall, but don't expect much more peak power. You might even go backwards. And you DEFINITELY won't see increased boost. The blower is just too damned small to feed a big cammed motor. You can't pulley it up high enough to build serious boost against a big cam. There's just isn't enough headroom, unlike a big 'ol X-71 class blower.