PPG Paint school.....waterbase

shaggydjlg

Amateur Racer
Dec 31, 2007
Hersey,Mich
well i just got back from ppg's paint school....I am now a certified PPG painter!!! Monday my shop is doing a change over from solvent paint to water base does anyone use it? I think california has been using it for some time now.
Anyway the class was very interesting and i learned a lot from it.In fact my boss and i are going back to learn how to do some custom painting.Like murals and real flames or basic flames.It will also teach how to paint wood grain,flags ,eagles,u name it and its all in water base. Ive always wanted to learn that neat stuff.
Its seems easy enough to spray and has a total differant gun distance and hand sweeping motion.Very easy to clean and it is by far the easiest paint to use to blend a panel. Its almost impossible to mess up and its takes far less time and money to paint a car.
I can paint and clearcoat a fender in approx 5 mins.and its done!! Have u ever ran the clearcoat and sanded through to the base coat?? Give me 5 mins. and ill paint it clear it give it a 10 min bake and u can drive it down the road!! Thats right no sealer or solvent pop to mess the paint job up and seriously no buffing if the booth is clean!!!
In the year 2014 all bodyshops that surround the great lakes will have to go to water base.And if you dont it is a 25,000 dollar fine!!!
The law will state if u do cars in your own garage on your own time u can only do 2 per year with solvent base paint!! That sucks because my buddy does several of them.
Well anyway if u havent tried the water base paint take a class and u will see how much easier it is!!

melloelky

Top Fueler
Jul 1, 2009
mass