Page 2 of 2

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 7:19 pm
by gmachinz
I'll post some pics of the fuse/relay center I'm incorporating into a 1966 Chevelle I'm building at my shop. I removed the entire relay center from a 99 Olds Alero and it has a total of 10 realys, some of which are 5 pin as well as about 12 MAXI style fuses-it looks factory and it provides an easy place for proper wire routing. -Jabin

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:46 pm
by gmachinz
http://www.pro-touring.com/forum/showthread.php?t=46075" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

My images appear to be too big-here's the Chevelle I'm building at the shop. It's a dynoed 632 hp 406 mechanical roller motor with an NX kit that's capable of adding approx. 750 hp more. You can see the relay center I'm building for it-that is how I build my electrical systems underhood. The MAXI style fuses handle current loads better and the integrated relays keep everything neat and tidy. I'm still in the middle of running all the electrical for it at the moment.

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 8:42 am
by HarrisonTX
I am taking the adive of ordering quality relays.
Does anyone know where i can get a Potter & Brumfield or bosch relay? Im restricted to ordering online

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 1:20 pm
by Robert1320

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Fri Nov 21, 2008 11:32 am
by BMR Sales
HarrisonTX wrote:I am taking the adive of ordering quality relays.
Does anyone know where i can get a Potter & Brumfield or bosch relay? Im restricted to ordering online
Sometimes if there is a "good" parts guy at your local parts store they can find relays for you. Just ask them to bring the box with the relays in it from the back and even though GP or Wells name is on the box open them up and look at the back of the relay. Most of the time you will find Bosch relays in the boxes or you might get lucky and find Hella relays there as well.

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 6:05 pm
by Excelerater
how do you wire 2 relays in paralell?

Image

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2009 8:30 pm
by ILLEGAL REGAL
why run 2?

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:42 am
by Excelerater
ILLEGAL REGAL™ wrote:why run 2?

big pumps use big power.....
also,incase one dies on ya

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 4:49 pm
by ILLEGAL REGAL
Excelerater wrote:
ILLEGAL REGAL™ wrote:why run 2?

big pumps use big power.....
also,incase one dies on ya
the reason they say run 2 is simply in case 1 fails there's a backup.. and thats words directly from them.

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 8:33 am
by Excelerater
ILLEGAL REGAL™ wrote:
Excelerater wrote:
ILLEGAL REGAL™ wrote:why run 2?

big pumps use big power.....
also,incase one dies on ya
the reason they say run 2 is simply in case 1 fails there's a backup.. and thats words directly from them.
The only thing bad about that idea is :
If one relay went bad how would you ever know??????

I dont know why they just dont sell /use a 70A relay like this
http://order.waytekwire.com/productdeta ... R%20RELAY/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 6:51 pm
by ILLEGAL REGAL
Excelerater wrote:
The only thing bad about that idea is :
If one relay went bad how would you ever know??????

I dont know why they just dont sell /use a 70A relay like this
http://order.waytekwire.com/productdeta ... R%20RELAY/" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
I guess when the 2nd goes bad :mrgreen: I'll use a single and carry a spare

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 12:06 pm
by slimbo
i run redundant raleays for my pump as well. i use ihc hydroboost relays. they have a sweet sealed socket.

they are on the right fenderwell next to my msd box.

Image

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 8:15 am
by BMR Sales
Man those look nice, where'd you pick them up from?

Re: how to wire relays

Posted: Wed Nov 04, 2009 5:51 pm
by cttandy
While I was working at the salvage yard, we had an ambulance come in. I dug around until I found the relay panel.

I know have about 60 - 50 amp relays and as many 50 amp breakers.

I have used them for all sorts of stuff over the last few years.