G body Heater removal

85MonteCoupe

Daily Driver
Dec 30, 2008
Columbus, Indiana
So, I finally decided I am going to remove my heater/Ac box from the engine bay. I've been putting it off for a few years because I wanted to keep defrost but in the last two years since the engine swap I have never once needed the heater or fan. One time I turned it on because it was pretty hot out, but it blew so much hot air into the car I turned it right back off. So my question is, do you need to remove the dash in order to get the box out through the engine bay? I have it half out, top and all bolts loosened, but it seems like something else might be holding it up. I have seen plenty of pictures of people with it out, but no descriptions on how. Do you have to remove the dash or is there some bolt I am missing that is still in it? I would prefer not to damage it during removal.

Thanks,
Jason

vickysbu

Amateur Racer
Jan 14, 2011
Low End
No need to remove the dash, glove compartment door needs to be removed for easier access. Do you have the controls dismounted already? And you're going to need a prybar to break the seal, just be gentle so you dont crack the box.

85MonteCoupe

Daily Driver
Dec 30, 2008
Columbus, Indiana
Vickysbu, thanks for the response,