quadrajet questions

chevybowtie

Feb 24, 2011
So the last few days I've been working on my q-jet. It's my first time endeavouring to rebuild the q-jet myself. Previously I've been taking it to a local speed shop to get rebuilt, but last time I got one worked one they overtighted then idle mixture screws and wrecked the baseplate, and never told me about it. So I have some questions, cause I want to be doin this myself from now on.

Is it safe to have the carb sent to a machine shop and planed to restore flatness? I'm referring to having the top and bottom of the main body, and the top and bottom of the base plate planed. Will that cause problems in any way?

Where is a good place to buy a rebuild kit from? I'm open to recommendations. I'm assuming I'll have to do mail order. There aren't really any speed shops in my local area (other than the one I was previously going to).

Is it safe to drill out the well plugs and replace them with screw-in plugs? The last few q-jets I've had have had bad leakdown from the main well and front (fuel inlet) plugs. I noticed the last place I was sending the carbs used epoxy to seal the plugs. Is there a recommended type of epoxy to use?

lurchsmalibu

Top Fueler
Jun 5, 2005
Lakeland, Florida
I've never had issues with bodies being untrue, fully assemble it and find a smooth surface then put down a sheet of fine grit sand paper with some water on it and move the carb in small circular motions to see just how far the base plate is untrue. Should only true up the base plate if you need to, but with the thicker gasket that is used for the carb to manifold, it shouldn't leak unless it's about to break.

If you true up the other gasket sealing areas they have a tiny raised area the entire sealing area IIRC, it can be worse off than what you have now. #-o :lol: