Door alignment

Wile E

Dragway Regular
Aug 11, 2003
Central WISC
Any tips or tricks to aligning the doors? Things were going good, I had the gaps and height ok, but I'm having problems getting the door to sit flush with the body. Tried various shims with limited success. My strikers are in nice shape, I've replaced my latches and rebuilt the hinges (new pins and bushings) so there is very little slop. The weather stipping is new, could that be contributing to the problem? Car is sitting level, no motor or trans. New body mounts and bolts. Original doors. This is my first time hanging doors, so any insight is welcome.

melloelky

Top Fueler
Jul 1, 2009
mass
hey wile E,when you say"door to sit flush w/the body"u mean the door is in or out compared to the quarter panel?if this is the case then you need to adjust the striker.that regulates the where the door stops.any time i hang a hood or door i remove the striker or latch,this way nothing will dictate where the panel will go when closed.new weather striping maybe a bit stiff and make it seem like the striker needs to be pulled out.also roll the window down,that maybe pushing it out.let me know how it goes.

Wile E

Dragway Regular
Aug 11, 2003
Central WISC
I adjusted the striker in as far as possible, that did not help enough so I removed it to see how far the door would go in while applying pressure. No difference. Door sticks out from the body about 3/8" or more. I'm sure I'm just overlooking something simple. Door glass is not installed. I'm starting to think its the weatherstripping.

melloelky

Top Fueler
Jul 1, 2009
mass
3/8's is a bunch.has the car had a quarter replaced?maybe the new weatherstripping is to blame.

nillabu

Dragway Regular
May 16, 2008
St. Cloud, Minnesota