Just general help with everything overall

79BuOwner

Amateur Racer
Jul 11, 2011
Okay so i wasn't too sure on what forum to post this is, and it kinda fits a bunch...anyway to the point, i have a 79 Bu with a 267 and either 3:90 or 3:73 gears, not sure which one. original 3 speed trans. the engine screams at around 55mph which is obvious with the three speed. not too good for highway driving, and im getting around 8 miles to the gallon, what would be the route to take with getting better mpgs. it is a daily driver as im a student a career & tech center, studying electrical construction, and do not currently have a job, working on that. the mpgs is breaking my wallet, i love the car, and dont wanna get rid of it. but would like to see an improvment in mileage, a friend has an 80 bu with a worked 350 getting 20mgs not sure what rear he has. give me your opinions what i could do to get that boost in mpgs. 4 speed trans? maybe back to a stock rear for now? upgrade engine? not sure on what i can do theres a bunch of things. also considering saving the money to buy a beater car that gets good mileage. Opinions please! Thank you.

79BuOwner

Amateur Racer
Jul 11, 2011
ALSO i have used my last summer il get during school restoring this car, and finally got it legal, so this is why i would hate to see it go. plus there are very few in my area. and its nice to just have some drivers and not drag cars.

79BuOwner

Amateur Racer
Jul 11, 2011
where would i get my hands on something like that? and ive never installed and engine or transon a car, so how hard would it be to do a trans? what else would i need to do the conversion?

t5montecarlo

MalibuRacing Junkie
Oct 21, 2007
Lederach, PA
garage-scene.com
They came in 1985 and later G bodies, Caprices, and some Camaros. You will need a different crossmember and a frame extension for the driver's side of the car (available from lots of vendors).