Pinion angle help please!

bbaehr22x

Dragway Regular
Mar 21, 2005
North Ridgeville, ohio
I am resetting my pinion angle after changing it last year to try clearing a vibration issue. The vibration was the yoke of the driveshaft and not the suspension. This is what I currently have

The car is has a ladder bar suspension. I believe I want 1-2° of pinion angle. I was told that I always want the driveshaft running down towards the rear. Has anyone else heard that? I do not believe I can achieve that with the current placement of the motor. Should I just adjust rotate the pinion up so the difference in pinion and driveshaft angles are around 2°?

BTW - I'm no artist!

MALI-WHO

Daily Driver
Jan 2, 2010
Huber Heights, Ohio
From looking at you diagram the rearend needs the pinion rotated up! The pinion needs to run parallel with the engine/trans! I shoot for 2* on the pinion and 2* on the engine/trans. I would place a shim between your trans and trans mount to try and achieve this, then rotate your pinion upward to get it at 2*. Rule of thumb is to have the same degree on the pinion angle and engine and trans angle and these angles should never intersect! Hope this helps some...

bbaehr22x

Dragway Regular
Mar 21, 2005
North Ridgeville, ohio
That is what I have been reading everywhere. Unfortunately I had the motor and mid plates welded in using the stock motor mounts. So I can't change that without redoing it. I am also unsure of having the rear pointing up. Ill try it out and see what happens I guess. Thanks.

woody31

Frequent Racer
the engine and trans must be level,,,with the car on level flat concrete surface,,remove carb and check at carb base,,it must be level,,any other work will be pointless untill you do this first,,,

lasttime78

Frequent Racer
Mar 7, 2011
Just outside Rochester, New York
woody31 said: